American Association for Laboratory Accreditation

About A2LA

The American Association for Laboratory Accreditation (A2LA) is a nonprofit, non-governmental, public service, membership society. We are the only independent (meaning that we are not governed by another, "parent" organization), non-profit, internationally-recognized accreditation body in the United States that offers a full range of comprehensive laboratory and laboratory-related accreditation services and training. Services are available to any type of organization, be it private or government. All of our accreditation programs are based on internationally-accepted criteria for competence. In addition to the accreditation of laboratories, A2LA offers programs for the accreditation of inspection bodies, proficiency testing providers, reference material producers and product certification bodies.

A2LA's Mission

Provide world-class accreditation and training services for testing and calibration laboratories, inspection bodies, proficiency testing providers, reference material producers and product certifiers. These and other future services should create stakeholder confidence in the quality, competence and integrity of all A2LA-accredited organizations and in their products and services.

A2LA's Vision

To be the premier provider of accreditations accepted everywhere and by everyone.

A2LA's Principles and Values

  • Uncompromising Integrity
  • Impartiality, Independence & Objectivity
  • Credibility
  • Continuous Improvement/Personal Renewal
  • Teamwork
  • Trust
  • Respect for Individual Dignity

A2LA Board of Directors

The Association is governed by its Board of Directors, which is elected by the Association Membership. The current A2LA Board of Directors includes:

Robert Whitehead Chairman Green Arrow Labs, Inc.
David Evanson First Vice Chairman Evanson Microbiological Services, LLC
George Riley Second Vice Chairman
David Fischer Secretary Fischer Custom Communications, Inc.
Steven Darr Treasurer Calibre CPA Group
Timothy Osborne Chairman, Criteria Council Trescal, Inc.
Niel Zuern Chairman, Accreditation Council Consultant
Michael Kesselmayer Past Chairman Professional Service Industries, Inc.
Helga Alexander   Southern Research Institute
Ryan Colker   National Institute of Building Sciences
John Fitzpatrick   APR Energy
Bradley Goskowicz   Microbiologics
Mark Kellogg   Children's Hospital Boston
David Kilhefner   ERA "A Waters Company"
Paul Moliski   Intertek
Judith Morgan   Pace Analytical Services, Inc. - Corporate
Kerie Price   Michelin North America
Eric Rieders   National Medical Services
Dean Williams   Duke Energy
Isabel Wright   Armacell LLC
Tony Youssef   Cisco
Francis Azzarto Liaison General Electric Aircraft Engines
Louis Bluhm Liaison USDA/FSIS
Tim Brooke Liaison ASTM International
Eamon Monahan Liaison Environmental Protection Agency
R. Dan Reid Liaison
George Salem Liaison US Food and Drug Administration
James Hostetler Counsel Law Office of Jim Hostetler
Teresa Barnett Senior Director, Quality and Communications A2LA
Trace McInturff Senior Director, Accreditation Services A2LA