American Association for Laboratory Accreditation

Information Technology Testing

Accreditation Program

A2LA's Information Technology (IT) field of testing is applicable to all laboratories that perform testing on any aspect of an information system environment. This testing may be virtual, physical, logical or analytical.

Accreditation Requirements

Information Technology testing laboratories are assessed against the general criteria found in ISO/IEC 17025 General Requirements for the Accreditation of Testing and Calibration Laboratories. The A2LA Electro-Mechanical Advisory Committee (EMAC) has also developed a consensus document which compiles all consensus decisions related to their areas of expertise (including the Information Technology field). Since this consensus document is considered an A2LA Policy, laboratories accredited by A2LA in the Information Technology field are expected to adhere to the decisions contained within it, where applicable.

Click on the "Download Application Documents" button to the right to obtain all documents relevant to the Information Technology testing field.

Optional Requirements

Any laboratory performing tests in the field (i.e., at other than a permanent laboratory site) may seek accreditation for this field work. In these cases, A2LA has developed additional requirements for laboratories performing tests in the field. These requirements and the associated checklist may be found through the "Download Application Documents" button to the right for any laboratory interested in adding these capabilities to their scope of accreditation.


In addition to the general Information Technology testing field, sub-programs within this field have been developed in the following areas. Although A2LA itself has not published additional requirements related to these sub-programs, additional requirements do exist as published by the relevant agencies. IT laboratories seeking accreditation within these sub-programs will be assessed to the additional requirements identified below:

Click on the sub-programs listed above for more information about each.

Related Programs

A2LA understands that IT organizations may also be interested in accreditation for work that they do outside of the testing arena. The following accreditation opportunities may be of interest and we invite you to read further at the links provided below:

  • FedRAMP: A2LA has been approved to offer ISO/IEC 17020 inspection body assessment and accreditation to Federal Risk and Authorization Management Program (FedRAMP) Third Party Assessment Organizations (3PAOs) under the FedRAMP Concept of Operations (CONOPS). For more information, please click here.
  • Inspection Bodies and Product Certification Bodies: A2LA accredits all types of organizations to the requirements of ISO 17020 for Inspection Bodies or ISO/IEC 17065 for Product Certification. A2LA can accredit these organizations for any publicly available standards, including the test cases as described in NIST 800-53, which is the current standard being required of all Third Party Assessment Organizations (3PAO) for the FedRAMP program (see details above). Please visit A2LA's Inspection Body Accreditation Program page and Product Certification Body Accreditation Program page for more information.

Acceptance/Recognition of Accreditation in this Field

Interested in learning how A2LA accreditation in this field of testing may be accepted internationally as well as domestically by federal, state and private sector entities? Click on the following links for more information:

Advisory Committee

A2LA has developed an Electro-Mechanical Advisory Committee (EMAC) to assist the Association by providing technical input on policy creation and decisions related to the IT testing area. If you wish to participate on the EMAC, we invite you to contact Megan McConnell, A2LA Senior Accreditation Officer, at